December Contribution to the Bandera Bulletin
#3 Top Ten Things to Know Regarding Your 2018 Tax Statement
Wendy M. Grams – Chief Appraiser
Gwenda Tschirhart – Tax Assessor-Collector
Unless you have a mortgage company responsible for paying your tax out of an escrow account, you should have received a tax statement for each property you own. No matter who is responsible for payment of your property tax-you or your mortgage company on your behalf – here are 10 things to know about your tax statement.
- The Property Identification Number (PID) on your tax statement is the same PID number that identifies your property at the appraisal district.
- In Bandera County, you will receive one tax bill for each property identified under your ownership. This bill will be mailed from the Bandera County Tax Office and will include amounts for each taxing entity in which the property is located.
- Your tax amount is calculated based on the taxable value of your property as indicated on the appraisal notice you received in April or May and the tax rate adopted by each taxing entity in September.
- In most cases, it is too late to protest the valuation of your property or the denial of an exemption for 2018. Unless you have recently received a corrected notice of appraised value, the protest deadline was May 15.
- If you owned your home and occupied it as your principal residence on January 1, 2018, you may qualify for a residential homestead exemption. If you are currently receiving the homestead exemption and are over 65 years of age or disabled, you may qualify for an additional exemption. If you are over 65 or disabled, you can also apply to pay your taxes in four equal installments from January to July. Veteran’s with a service-connected disability are also entitled an exemption. Late 2017 exemption can still be processed and the tax savings applied to your 2018 tax amount.
- Under Texas law, a tax lien automatically attaches to your property on January 1 to secure payment of the year’s property tax.
- Not receiving a tax statement doesn’t change the validity of the tax. The Texas Property Tax Code says property owners are responsible for payment even if they didn’t get the statement. If you have not received the bill for property you own contact the tax office to avoid additional fees.
- Beginning February 1, 2019, unpaid taxes are considered delinquent and begin to accrue penalty and interest fees. The penalty and interest amount is 7 percent in February, and continue to increase each month until paid. Taxes still unpaid on July 1 will receive 38% in Penalties & Interest (P&I) and attorney fees.
- Unpaid property taxes can lead to tax suits, additional court costs, and foreclosure. Several times each year, properties are sold at auction in Bandera County because property taxes are unpaid.
- This month, the Bandera County Tax Office will receive thousands of payments, and it will take several weeks to process them all. During this time, the tax office may not be able to check on receipt of your payment until it is posted. If your payment envelope is postmarked by December 31, 2018, tax office records will reflect a December posting. If you would like a copy of your receipt, you will need to enclose a stamped, self-address envelope.
Please check your statements carefully. If you have a problem or a question with your tax statement, go by and see the friendly tax office staff, give them at call at (830)796-3731 or email them at firstname.lastname@example.org. Now is the time to solve owner or exemption issues before penalties and interest are applied. December is a busy month for everyone, the employees at the Appraisal District and Tax Office of Bandera County want to take the time to wish you and yours a Christmas season filled with peace and joy.